## IOWA ALL-STATERS WHO BECAME NCAA DIV. I CONSENSUS FIRST TEAM ALL-AMERICANS

1889-1964 - one team selected; 1964-present - offensive and defensive teams chosen

Note: Other lowans have been named to various All-American teams; however those listed below were consensus first team.

Updated December 4, 2012

1921	* Aubrey Devine, Iowa (Des Moines, West), RB
1922	* Gordon Locke, Iowa (Denison), RB
1924	* Elmer Layden, Notre Dame (Davenport), RB
1930	Frank Baker, Northwestern (Cedar Rapids), E
1935	* Jay Berwanger, University of Chicago (Dubuque), RB <heisman trophy="" winner=""></heisman>
1938	* Ed Bock, Iowa State (Fort Dodge), G
1939	* Nile Kinnick, Iowa (Adel, Omaha Central grad,) B <heisman award="" maxwell="" winner="" winner;=""></heisman>
1940	* George "Sonny" Franck, Minnesota (Davenport), B <3 <sup>rd</sup> in Heisman won by Tom Harmon>
1943	* Bob O'Dell, Pennsylvania (Sioux City), B <2 <sup>nd</sup> in Heisman won by Angelo Bertelli; Maxwell winner:
1950	* Jerry Groom, Notre Dame (Dowling, DM), C
1958	* Randy Duncan, Iowa (Des Moines Roosevelt), B <2 <sup>nd</sup> in Heisman voting won by Pete Dawkins>
1981	Reggie Roby, Iowa (Waterloo, East), P
1987	Chad Hennings, Air Force (Benton, Van Horne), DL <outland trophy="" winner=""></outland>
1988	Marv Cook, Iowa (West Branch), TE
1989	Mike Busch, Iowa State (North Scott), TE
1993	Trev Alberts, Nebraska (NUH, Cedar Falls), LB <butkus award="" winner=""></butkus>
1997	Tim Dwight, Iowa (Iowa City, City), KR
1998	Jared DeVries, Iowa (Aplington-Parkersburg), DL
2002+	
ろししる	Pohart Gallary, Jowa (Fact Ruchanan), OL - Winner of the Outland Trophys

## Nate Kaeding, Iowa (Iowa City West), PK <Groza Award Winner in 2002> Bold face – currently in IHSAA Hall of Fame

+ Nate Kaeding, Iowa (Iowa City West), PK and Bruce Nelson, Iowa (Emmetsburg), C also received consensus votes \* denotes elected to College Football's Hall of Fame, which also includes Vern DenHerder (Sioux Center-Central College)and Coach Eddie Anderson (Mason City – University of Iowa, Holy Cross)

\*\*\*\*\*

## <u>Iowa Preps Who Became NCAA Div. 1-AA (Div. I-FCS), Div. II, or Div. III</u> <u>AII-Americans</u>

(Selected by American Football Coaches Association; Associated Press; Football Gazette; or Sports Network)

Note: Many former lowa preps have been named to various collegiate NCAA Division I-AA, Division II or Division III AllAmerican teams. Those listed below have been <a href="mailto:honored">honored with first team recognition</a> by the AFCA, AP, Football Gazette or
Sports Network. Please report any omissions to Bud Legg at the IHSAA (blegg@iahsaa.org), as well as
information on NAIA first team All-Americans from lowa

1949	Paul DeVan, ISTC-UNI, (Des Moines, East) HB
1952 1957	Louis Bohnsack, ISTC – UNI, (Manning), C Bruce Hartman, Luther (Burlington), T
1960	George Asleson SCI – UNI (Charles City), G
1961	Wendell Williams, SCI-UNI (Mount Pleasant), G
1962	Dan Boals, SCI-UNI (Urbandale), FB
1964	Randy Schultz, SCI – UNI (Alden), B (also 1965)
1966	Dennis Descoteau, Central (West Liberty), RB
	Tom Altemeier, Luther (Newton), OL/DL
1967	Ray Pedersen, SCI-UNI (NUH, Cedar Falls), G
<b>1970</b> 1974	* Vern DenHerder, Central (Sioux Center) DT Al Dorenkamp, Central (Meservey-Thornton), LB Dan Schmidt, Coe (Wahlert, Dubuque), OG

1975	Mike Timmermans, UNI (Vinton-Shellsburg) OT
1976	Keith Kerkhoff, Buena Vista (Manning), DL
1070	Relative Month, Buena Vista (Walting), BE
4000	B. B. A. A. A. A. A. T.
1982	Pat Dunsmore, Drake (Ankeny), TE
	Craig Wederquist, Drake (Urbandale), OT
1984	Scott Froehle, Central (Iowa City, City), DB
1985	Rich Thomas, Central (Eddyville), DL
	Chris Hegg, NE Missouri State - Truman State (Hudson) QB <d-ii of="" player="" the="" year=""></d-ii>
1987	Jim Higley, Buena Vista (Emmetsburg), LB
1301	
4000	Jerry Klosterman, St. Ambrose (Beckman, Dyersville), DL
1988	Mike Stumberg, Central (Grundy Center), DL
1989	Ricky Gales, Simpson (Dowling, WDM), RB
	Kris Reis, Central (Coon Rapids), LB
1990	Ron Saak, Central (Grundy Center), LB
1991	Chad Guthrie, Northeast Missouri State University (Newton (RB)
1992	Kenny Shedd, UNI (Davenport, West), WR
1993	Carey Bender, Coe, (Marion), RB
	Adam Timmerman, South Dakota St. (Cherokee), DL
	Jeff Helle, Central (West Delaware), OL
	Andre Allen, UNI (Des Moines, North), LB
1994	Andre Allen, UNI (Des Moines, North), LB
	Jeff Helle, Central (West Delaware), OL
	Carey Bender, Coe, (Marion), RB <gagliardi award="" winner=""></gagliardi>
	Rick Sanger, Central; (West Hancock), LB
	Mark Kacmaryniski, Central (West Bend-Mallard), RB
	Adam Timmerman, South Dakota State University (Cherokee) <d-ii lineman-of-the-year="" offensive=""></d-ii>
	Jamey Parker, Wartburg (Cedar Rapids Kennedy), OL
	Vince Penningroth, Wartburg (Maquoketa), DL
1995	Rusty Van Wetzinga, Augustana, III (Pleasant Valley), LB
	Rick Sanger, Central; (West Hancock), LB
	Dedric Ward, UNI (Cedar Rapids, Washington), WR
	Vince Penningroth, Wartburg (Maquoketa), DL
	Tim Carver, Eastern Illinois (Urbandale), LB
1996	
1990	Mark Kacmaryniski, Central (West Bend-Mallard), RB
	Brent Parrott, Simpson (Clarke, Osceola), DB
	Dedric Ward, UNI (Cedar Rapids, Washington), WR
	Chris Winey, Simpson (Carroll), OT
1997	Jeremy Whalen, Simpson (Indianola), DL
	Matt Paulson, Central (Waverly-Shell Rock) DB
1998	Andrew Paulsen, Central (Waverly-Shell Rock), DB
.000	Guy Leman, Simpson (Webster City), RB
	Clint Head, Simpson (Farragut), OL
	Brad Meester, University of Northern Iowa (Aplington-Parkersburg) OL
1999	Zak Gordon, Coe (Dubuque Hempstead) DB
	Brad Meester, UNI (Aplington-Parkersburg), C
	Steve Perkins, Central (Oskaloosa), DT
	Ben Smith, Buena Vista (Wall Lake View Auburn), RB
	Brad Meester, University of Northern Iowa (Aplington-Parkersburg, OL
	Ziad mession, emission, emission remains a (r.p.m.g.em america ag, e_
2000	Jeff Sanger, Central (West Hancock, Britt), LB
2000	
	Justin Snyder, Central (Panorama, Panora), DE
	Reid Evans, Central (Newton), C
	Eddie Berlin, UNI (Urbandale), WR
2001	Joel Demro, Wartburg (Nashua-Plainfield), OL
	MacKenzie Hoambrecker, UNI (Davenport West), PK
	Adam Vogt, UNI (West Delaware), LB
2002	MacKenzie Hoambrecker, UNI (Davenport West), PK
2002	Mike Donnewerth, Simpson (SCMT, Sheffield), QB/P
2003	
	Justin Kammrad, University of Nebraska-Omaha (Co. Bluffs T. Jefferson) R <3rd in Harlon Hill Award>

	Kyle Westphal, Simpson (Nodaway Valley, Greenfield), db
	Vince King, Wartburg (Burlington), DT
	Cody Kelley, Wartburg (Tipton), DB/WR
	Mike Clark, Augustana (Pleasant Valley), PK
2004	Mike Clark, Augustana (Pleasant Valley), PK
	Jason Ripke, Simpson (Newell-Fonda), DE
	Michael Irvin, Buena Vista (Bedford), LB
	Marc Sanger, Central (West Hancock), LB
	Brian McIntire, Wartburg (Clear Lake), DB
2005	Zac Herold, University Nebraska Omaha (Prairie, Cedar Rapids), TE
	Ryan Johnson, Central (West Hancock, Britt), OT
	Ross Dillavou, Loras (Xavier, Cedar Rapids), DL
2006	Zac Herold, University of Nebraska Omaha (Prairie, Cedar Rapids), TE
	Michael Peterson, Northwest Missouri State (Atlantic), TE
2007	Chad Rinehart, University of Northern Iowa (Boone), OT
	Nick Weber, Wartburg (Xavier, Cedar Rapids), OL
2008	Jeff Schebler, Wisconsin-Whitewater (Assumption, Davenport), K
2009	Jeff Schebler, Wisconsin-Whitewater (Assumption, Davenport), K
	Austin Howard, University of Northern Iowa (Davenport Central), OL
	Jake Soy, Northwest Missouri State (Durant), WR <national div.="" ii="" in="" of="" receiver="" the="" year=""></national>
	,,

Bold face – in Iowa HS Hall of Fame thru 2011

<sup>\*</sup> denotes elected to College Football's Hall of Fame